Modoc Nation Community Engagement (formerly known as Culture Club) will hold its first meeting of the year on February 13th, 2023 at the Gathering Place, 74025 E 103rd Rd, Wyandotte, OK, from 6-7:30pm. Light refreshments will be provided. For more information, call Syd at 918-994-1819.

Due to weather conditions and grounds conditions the Memorial Gathering scheduled for 11/05/2022 has been cancelled.

Please stay tuned for rescheduled event in Spring of 2023!

From the office of the Chief - October 15, 2022

Please see the following letter regarding the passing of Chief Bill G. Follis.

The Modoc Nation has joined the Tribal Amicus Brief filed today with the United States Supreme Court in Haaland v. Brackeen on behalf of 497 Tribes and 62 Tribal and Native Organizations in support of the Federal and Tribal Defendants. Each Tribe and organization signed on individually in support of the Indian Child Welfare Act (ICWA) and the law’s focus on the best interests of Native children. This is likely the most tribal signatories that have ever joined together on a single Supreme Court brief and it highlights Indian Country’s unity in protecting and defending Native children, Native families, and tribal sovereignty. 

An incredible amount of briefs are continuing to be filed in support of ICWA. The full suite of amicus briefs highlight the broad support for ICWA from states, Congress, former foster children, parent and child advocates, child welfare experts, legal scholars, historians, medical professionals, and more – it’s an absolute avalanche of strategic, targeted support for ICWA. We appreciate the efforts of the Native American Rights Fund (NARF) and the attorneys who have worked tirelessly on this great effort in support of tribal sovereignty. 

Oral argument has been scheduled for Wednesday, November 9, 2022. 

Official Election Results - August 6, 2022

Congratulations to our new Elected Council:


Chief:  Robert Burkybile

Second Chief:  Gina McGaughey

Secretary/Treasurer:  Ramona Rosiere

Council Member:  Jessica Mullin

Council Member:  Braxton Graham

Judge:  Jack Shadwick


Ex Parte Emergency Restraining Order - August 5, 2022

Please see the following order granting ex parte emergency restraining order in the court of the Modoc Nation, Miami, Oklahoma.

August 4, 2022

This list represents all the individuals 18 & over as of August 4, 2022, who meet all the requirements in the Modoc Constitution as amended in 2020, who are duly recognized as members of the Modoc Nation.  Any person not on this list shall not be allowed to attend nor vote on any Modoc Election and will be removed from tribal property at the discretion of the Nation.

Second Order of Comtempt - August 1, 2022

Please see the following court order filed today in the Court of the Modoc Nation.

Letter from the Chief of the Modoc Nation - July 30, 2022

Please see the following letter to all Modoc Nation members regarding what is at stake at the upcoming annual meeting and election on August 6, 2022 at 9am.

Court Ruling - July 28, 2022

Please see the following Order of Contempt from the court of the Modoc Nation (Case No. CIV-22-001).

Election Commission alternate - July 27, 2022

Election Commission Statement here….

Tribal Council Annual Meeting Notice

Please see the following notice regarding the rescheduled Annual Tribal Council Meeting on August 6, 2022.

Enrollment Commitee Update  

Please see the following memo regarding topics for discussion for the enrollment committee meeting scheduled for July 25, 2022.

Court Ruling - July 20, 2022 

Please see the temporary order and continuance of hearing from the court of the Modoc Nation (Case No. CIV-22-001).

Election Commission Update- July 17, 2022

The Election Commission has voted to grant a grace period for candidacy applications, due to the application attachments’ ambiguity. We are aware that some members are currently transitioning from temporary to permanent status and are still securing paperwork. Therefore, all applications and documentation must be received by 4:00 PM CST Friday, July 22, 2022.


We want to thank those potential applicants who have reached out with your intentions and questions. We would ask that any additional applicants please email us with your intentions as soon as possible as we secure and finalize all documentation throughout the upcoming week. Prior applicants that have submitted their application in March will need to re-submit the new, revised application that can be found on There are new pages that have been added and will need to be included with the paperwork to be selected and approved. Questions regarding the application may be directed to Kayla Medlin ( and/or Lisa Graham (


The Election Commission is an independent body and works under the constructs of the Modoc Constitution and Modoc Election Ordinance. All inquiries received will remain confidential. We are dedicated to the integrity and progress of this election. Your Election Commissioners are working diligently to conduct an authentic and reliable 2022 Modoc Election.


We thank you for your patience and understanding in this matter. And good luck to all potential election candidates.



The Election Commission

Memo from Chief Bill Follis

July 11, 2022

Please see the following memo regarding recent actions and upcoming hearing. 

Election Commission Reminder - July 8, 2022

Our annual meeting will be held on August 6, 2022, at 9:00am CST at The Gathering Place.  The Modoc Nation Elected Council has selected Kayla Medlin and Lisa Graham as Election Commissioners and Jack Shadwick to be the Alternate Commissioner, if needed.

The Elected Council Candidate Application and Election Ordinance are attached for any Modoc Nation member wanting to be on the Verified Ballot.  Applications and Background Check Consent Forms must be submitted to or mailed to 22 N. Eight Tribes Trail, Miami, OK 74354, attention: Election Commission.

Applications must be completed and received by July 15, 2022, at 4:00 p.m.

If you have any questions after reviewing the attachments, please let us know by emailing:

Thank you,

Election Commission